Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

The ABC Board consists of three members appointed by the Tryon Board of Commissioners. The ABC Board  reviews and oversees the budget.  They meet the third  Wednesday of each month at 1.15pm at the Tryon Town Hall Conference Room – Public welcome.

Board Members: Lynn Sessoms – Jeffrey Close
Council Liason: Crys Armbrust
Store Manager: Heather Ravan

Store Hours:   Monday – Saturday, 10AM-8PM


Purchase Policies

It is the policy of the Town of Tryon ABC Board to prohibit anyone 18, 19, or 20 years of age from entering our stores.  Children under the age of 18 may enter our stores, as long as they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

Acceptable Forms of ID
 It is the responsibility of the customer to prove they are 21 years of age. The forms of ID acceptable in the Town of Tryon ABC Store include:
• A valid U.S. driver’s license
• A valid ID card (issued by a state’s department of motor vehicles)
• A valid passport
• A valid U.S. Military ID

Group ID Policy
It is the policy of the Town of Tryon ABC Board to immediately check the ID of any young person, as soon as they enter our store. An entire group of people can be refused if any member of the group is underage or unable to produce an acceptable form of ID.

Transportation Permits
In accordance with North Carolina ABC laws, a customer may purchase up to eight (8) liters of alcohol (distilled spirits) from our stores without a transportation permit. With a transportation permit, the customer may purchase up to forty (40) liters of alcohol and subsequently transport their purchase within the State of North Carolina. A transportation permit is issued free of charge at the store, and is valid until 8:00 p.m. on the date it is issued.

If you need a transportation permit to transport more than eight liters of alcohol after 8:00 p.m. of the day of the original purchase, you can obtain an additional permit by returning to the store and advising us how much you need to relocate. Our sales associates are unable to provide “blank” permits to patrons.

For additional statutory information on ABC Board policies, please see the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission.

The store maintained by the Town divides its revenue as below:

Gross Profits:  Law Enforcement (NC General Statute 18B-805(C) [2]),  5% to the Harmon Field Commission for capital improvements useful in recreation.

Net Profits:  70% to Town of Tryon General Fund, 30% to Harmon Field Commission for maintenance and current operations or its recreational activities and programs.