Town Government

Our mission is to enhance the quality of life in Tryon through:

Creating an appealing, liveable, harmonious community

Sound leadership and fiscal responsibility

Efficient delivery of high quality services

Advocacy for community participation and involvement

Preservation of our history and protection of our natural environment

The Town of Tryon is structured under the council-manager form of government. Town voters elect a Mayor and four Commissioners to the Board of Commissioners to govern the Town. The Board is responsible for making legislative policy decisions for the Town. The Board also has the responsibility of appointing and directing the Town Manager. In turn, the Town Manager oversees the day-to-day operations of the Town and ensures the implementation of Board policies.
The Town of Tryon operates as a full-service municipal government, meaning the Town provides a wide variety of public services to its citizens. These services include, but are not limited to police protection, fire protection, water distribution, wastewater collection, street maintenance, solid waste collection, recycling pick-up, economic development, land use planning, and parks and recreation. The Town currently employs 37 public servants.

The Board of Commissioners meet at 7PM on the 3rd Tuesday of each month at the Tryon Fire Department.  Meetings are open to the public.

Alan Peoples, Mayor

Crys Armbrust, Mayor Pro Tempore

Bill Ingham, Town Commissioner

Bill Crowell, Town Commissioner

Chrelle Booker, Town Commissioner

William Morgan, Town Attorney       Susan Bell, Clerk to the Board


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s